The European Mycological Association [EMA] is calling for nominations of suitable young mycologists for the Elias Magnus Fries Medal.


At each International Mycological Congress, six awards are made by the International Mycological Association [IMA] to young mycologists, with the intention of helping advance their careers. Each region recognized by the Association is responsible for one award. The Elias Magnus Fries Medal is the award for Europe, and is administered by the EMA through its Award Committee, which recommends a winner based on nominations received. The next presentation of this award will be the XI International Mycological Congress in Puerto Rico (16-21 July 2018).


To be eligible, the nominee must be a member of the IMA and must be proposed and seconded by members of the IMA. In addition, they must, at the time of the next International Mycological Congress, be within ten years of their PhD (or equivalent) degree i.e. for IMC11 in 2018, a nominee must have received his or her PhD degree no earlier than 2008. Self nomination is not permitted, and nobody may receive the same award more than once. Members of societies affiliated to the IMA are, for the purposes of this call, deemed to be members of the IMA.

Documents required


Candidates are expected to have contributed appreciably to mycology and they should have achieved international recognition based on several criteria: (a) the quality, innovation, thoroughness, and impact on science of their published research, with consideration given to the contribution of the nominee to multi-authored publications; (b) service as editors of journals or as officers of societies; (c) membership on national or international policy committees; (d) invitations to present research at national or international meetings. For the Elias Magnus Fries Medal, there should be some connexion with Europe, and (although not a specific criterion) the Awards Committee would appreciate some indication of the nominee's ability to communicate their expertise through the spoken word.

The award

The award will be presented by the President of the IMA at the Closing Ceremony of the XI International Mycological Congress, and will take the form of a certificate. The recipient will also have the registration fee for the IMC waived.


Nominations should be sent digitally, as MS-WORD, PDF or RTF format files attached to an e-mail. Send nominations to the EMA President, Dr D.W. Minter with "Fries Medal nomination" as the subject line. The deadline for receiving nominations is 31 January 2018 [n.b. this is later than advertized elsewhere].

Copyright © 2017 European Mycological Association, All rights reserved.

Our mailing address is:
European Mycological Association
4 Esk Terrace
Whitby, North Yorkshire YO21 1PA
United Kingdom